War of Two Sides

warI rode across the battlefield,

For cannons volleyed past

And cries of pain, they echoed with

Grieving words of men-their last

Gunshots sounded through the land

And voices roared together

As the bravest of men, they charged into war

As I rode on forever

 

Bodies, supported by only the force of duty

They fell, and then were passed

Into those spheres where spirited souls meet

Regardless of earthly roles they complete

of whatever creed or caste

 

And as I rode, a thought came to me

Lives are lost, in wars of violence, however

I had a responsibility, that I fulfilled

As I rode on forever

One thought on “War of Two Sides

Leave a Reply

